Jon Phonics will already be known to a lot of you out there and in fact, some of you will know his sound without even having heard his name before, as he was part of the brains behind Verb T’s smash album “Verbs With a Vengeance”. Now he brings together a whole heap of beats featuring some of the best UK emcees on the mic at the moment, in the form of his compilation, 'Half Past Calm'.
There are a number of tracks on here with members of the Triple Darkness crew, Cyrus Malachi and M9ine, who can’t seem to put a foot wrong at the moment . Old favourites Sir Smurf Lil’ and Verb T are featured on a few tunes, as well as Mr Drastick who is definitely worth a look in at the moment.
Review by Fyshh

1. State Of Hip Hop - M9 & Prophet
2. Remember - T-Bear, Sir Smurf Lil' & Raggo Zulu Rebel
3. Nothing Wrong - Mr Drastick & Luc Skyz
4. The Lions Den - Cyrus Malachi
5. Black Tragedy (Half Past Calm Mix) - Phoenix Da Icefire, Iverse & Prophet
6. More Forward (Ill Rhythmikz Remix) - T-Bear
7. Alternate Take - Verb T & Fliptrix
8. Lost Planet - M9
9. In The Ends - Sir Smurf LIl'
10. Forbidden Chamber - Nine Planets
11. Jealousy's A Bitch - Mr Drastick & Verb T
12. Celebrate - T-Bear
13. More Forward - T-Bear

<a href="">State Of Hip Hop feat. Melanin 9 &amp; Prophet by Jonphonics</a>

No comments:

Post a Comment